If you first solve a model, then use addinit(v=a), and then solve the model again, why can the solver then terminate?
I thought that the residuals would be set to the values they had in the first simulation when using the addinit(v=a) command. What could cause the solver to terminate when the addinit-command is used in this way?
Thomas
addinit(v=a)
Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator
-
- Posts: 17
- Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2021 1:48 pm
Re: addinit(v=a)
It seems that this is specific to the model you're using. Because I tried it on my end, and the model I was using solved successfully both times. Strange!
-
- Posts: 545
- Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am
Re: addinit(v=a)
Hi,
Thanks for looking into this, random_user! I still don't understand the cause, but I think it is related to the actexist-option being activated.
Thomas
Thanks for looking into this, random_user! I still don't understand the cause, but I think it is related to the actexist-option being activated.
Thomas
-
- EViews Developer
- Posts: 572
- Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm
Re: addinit(v=a)
Hello,
It's possible that if solution values (or expressions they appear in) are very close to numeric singularities, then the adjustment of add factors combined with the solution rounding and significant digits setting could produce such failures. Here's a small program that demonstrates this effect:
It's possible that if solution values (or expressions they appear in) are very close to numeric singularities, then the adjustment of add factors combined with the solution rounding and significant digits setting could produce such failures. Here's a small program that demonstrates this effect:
Code: Select all
create u 10
series x = 3e-8
series x_a = 3e-8
model m
m.append x = x(-1)
m.append y = @log(3.3e-7 - x)
m.addassign x
m.solve
m.addinit(v=a) @all
m.scenario "Scenario 1"
m.solve
-
- Posts: 545
- Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am
Re: addinit(v=a)
Thanks, Matt, for looking into this!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests