Personalized command-explorer

For making suggestions and/or requests for new features you'd like added to EViews.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

MartinsFest

Personalized command-explorer

Postby MartinsFest » Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:56 am

Hello, Eviews-team.

This post is three-fold. First and second part are suggestions for something I would love to see implemented. Third is a bug I have encountered.

First:
I am new to Eviews and have been dabbling in the "Command Explorer". It is, however, not easy for a new user to navigate unless you already know which commands you are searching for.

Something that would improve it is if one could do partial search-words in the search-bar. If I wanted to round a series to the nearest integer I could type "round" instead of "@round". Or I could type "label" and find all commands related to labels. And a greater ask: it would be really great if I could search for words related to what I am looking for, and Eviews suggests relevant commands. Example: If I searched "HP-filter" or "filter", the "hpf"-command would be suggested.

PS: I sometimes use https://www.eviews.com/help/helpintro.html, and this search bar could be greatly improved as well. Example: I want to forecast a single series using an ARIMA-model, and want to know what command to use in my program. Searching "ARIMA" gives a lot of suggestions that are not relevant. It would be useful if I could opt the search results to only show me the results found in "Command Reference".

Second:
I am currently developing routines and addins for a program being used in our organization, but we lack an efficient way to inform our users on what functionality our program has. It would be really great if the "Command Explorer" could accommodate organizational environments - that a tab/dropdown could be customized such that it includes our own commands/subroutines. Then we could link a url/path to where the documentation is.

Third: