Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

For notifying us of what you believe are bugs or errors in EViews.
Please ensure your copy of EViews is up-to-date before posting.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

joshi27s
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:49 am

Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby joshi27s » Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:51 am

Hi

I was running the eight program files that are in the FRB/US package using Eviews11. They are in the "programs" folder and contain the simulation commands. After a few modifications in codes, I was able to run about halfway in all those files, when I came across one strange error that is inhibiting me to see the simulation results in all the eight files. The error message is the same all across the files.

Error path file.png
Error path file.png (75.97 KiB) Viewed 5088 times


"read_xml_model.prg" is found in the "addins" folder in the package.

I would appreciate it if anyone can help resolve the error.

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 12694
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby EViews Gareth » Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:49 am

Might be a Mac issue.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

joshi27s
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:49 am

Re: Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby joshi27s » Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:46 pm

Oh, how exactly is it a Mac issue? Does it mean that I have to use a computer with a Windows OS to run the simulations without encountering this specific and related errors?

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 12694
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby EViews Gareth » Thu Jun 04, 2020 1:18 pm

Possibly. I don't have a Mac to hand to test, but it is unlikely that the Fed uses a Mac.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

joshi27s
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:49 am

Re: Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby joshi27s » Thu Jun 04, 2020 4:02 pm

oh I see. Thanks

EViews Matt
EViews Developer
Posts: 476
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 7:48 pm

Re: Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby EViews Matt » Thu Jun 04, 2020 6:54 pm

Hello,

It just occurred to me that this may be a simple working directory issue, as the FRB/US programs are written under the assumption that the working directory is that package's "programs" directory. If that's the problem, just set the working directory accordingly (double-click the "Path = " area in the lower right of the EViews window) and you should be good to go.

joshi27s
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:49 am

Re: Error in using FRB/US model in Eviews 11

Postby joshi27s » Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:24 pm

Thanks, Matt. This helped me to resolve the error :)


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests