Page 1 of 1

Model is randomly solved...?

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:01 am
by tvonbrasch

I have a model with about 2000 equations. If I try to solve the model with the commands:

Code: Select all

   freeze(_a1) {%model}.msg
   freeze(_a2) {%model}.msg
   freeze(_a3) {%model}.msg

spool {%sp}
{%sp}.append _a1
{%sp}.append _a2
{%sp}.append _a3

the model will not solve. However if I alter the commands to:

Code: Select all

{%model}.solve(o=n,v=f, d=d)
   freeze(_a4) {%model}.msg
{%model}.solve(o=g,v=f, d=d)
   freeze(_a5) {%model}.msg
{%model}.solve(o=b,v=f, d=d)
   freeze(_a6) {%model}.msg
spool {%sp}
{%sp}.append _a4
{%sp}.append _a5
{%sp}.append _a6

the model solves. (see the two attachments).

I find this very strange. Why is this?

ideally, a user should just have to use a "solve" command and the program should by itself try different solution algorithms (and options) to find the one that solves the model. Is this something you can implement?

Re: Model is randomly solved...?

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:31 pm
by EViews Gareth
The first code is doing a static solve (since that it what the model's current default is).

The second code explicitly instructs to do a dynamic solve.

They're completely different processes, so it is not surprising that one works and one doesn't.

Re: Model is randomly solved...?

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:41 am
by tvonbrasch
Yes, I noticed it after I uploaded the example. Sorry about that.