Model is randomly solved...?

For notifying us of what you believe are bugs or errors in EViews.
Please ensure your copy of EViews is up-to-date before posting.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

tvonbrasch
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Model is randomly solved...?

Postby tvonbrasch » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:01 am

Hi

I have a model with about 2000 equations. If I try to solve the model with the commands:

Code: Select all

{%model}.solve(o=n)
   freeze(_a1) {%model}.msg
{%model}.solve(o=g)
   freeze(_a2) {%model}.msg
{%model}.solve(o=b)
   freeze(_a3) {%model}.msg

%sp="_results1"
spool {%sp}
{%sp}.append _a1
{%sp}.append _a2
{%sp}.append _a3


the model will not solve. However if I alter the commands to:

Code: Select all

{%model}.solve(o=n,v=f, d=d)
   freeze(_a4) {%model}.msg
{%model}.solve(o=g,v=f, d=d)
   freeze(_a5) {%model}.msg
{%model}.solve(o=b,v=f, d=d)
   freeze(_a6) {%model}.msg
   
   %sp="_results2"
spool {%sp}
{%sp}.append _a4
{%sp}.append _a5
{%sp}.append _a6


the model solves. (see the two attachments).

I find this very strange. Why is this?

ideally, a user should just have to use a "solve" command and the program should by itself try different solution algorithms (and options) to find the one that solves the model. Is this something you can implement?
Thomas
Attachments
_results2.txt
(861 Bytes) Downloaded 283 times
_results1.txt
(15.95 KiB) Downloaded 299 times

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 13307
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Model is randomly solved...?

Postby EViews Gareth » Fri Aug 11, 2017 1:31 pm

The first code is doing a static solve (since that it what the model's current default is).

The second code explicitly instructs to do a dynamic solve.

They're completely different processes, so it is not surprising that one works and one doesn't.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

tvonbrasch
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Model is randomly solved...?

Postby tvonbrasch » Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:41 am

Yes, I noticed it after I uploaded the example. Sorry about that.
Thomas


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests