series omitted when storing to Aremos database

For notifying us of what you believe are bugs or errors in EViews.
Please ensure your copy of EViews is up-to-date before posting.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

drew.sawyer
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:15 pm

series omitted when storing to Aremos database

Postby drew.sawyer » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:04 am

This bug can cause an error whereby some series are omitted when storing to an Aremos databank.

As currently written, the code below should produce the error.

The probability of error appears to be a function of 2 things:
(1) the alphabetical order of series being stored (the more out of order, the higher the probability of error)
(2) the number of series being stored (the more series, the higher the probability of error)

Thus, there are 2 independent ways to modify the code to prevent the error:
(1) Currently, %half2 is stored before %half1. If you reverse the order, the error should go away.
(2) Currently, there are 40 series in each half (total of 80). If you reduce it to 20 in each half (total of 40), the error should go away.

I am using this version:
EViews 9.5 (64-bit)
Enterprise Edition – Jul 11 2017 build

Code: Select all


wfcreate(wf=work, page=a) a 2000 2030


%half1 = ""

for !i = 11 to 50

  %half1 = %half1 + "a" + @str(!i) + " "

next


%half2 = ""

for !i = 51 to 90

  %half2 = %half2 + "a" + @str(!i) + " "

next


for %s {%half1} {%half2}

  genr {%s} = 1

next


if (@fileexist("bank.bnk") = 1) then

  dbdelete bank

endif

db(type=aremos) bank

store(d=bank) {%half2}

store(d=bank) {%half1}

close @db

dbopen(type=aremos) bank

Attachments
missing_series.png
missing_series.png (32.11 KiB) Viewed 169 times

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11283
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: series omitted when storing to Aremos database

Postby EViews Gareth » Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:10 am

After some investigation, it looks like this is an issue with the Aremos API that we use to read/write Aremos files.

Unfortunately, as I'm sure you're aware, Aremos is an old, no longer supported product, so there isn't a way for us to fix the issue, or ask the Aremos team to do so.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews


Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests