Model Printview Suggestion

For making suggestions and/or requests for new features you'd like added to EViews.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

xprimexinverse
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:41 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Model Printview Suggestion

Postby xprimexinverse » Sun May 15, 2016 3:51 pm

Hi,

Let me begin by saying that the printview option of model objects introduced in EViews 9.5 is an excellent new feature!

The suggestion here comes out of my observation that scalar objects are not replaced by their numerical value when using the printview option.

On the back of that observation, would it be possible to introduce replacement for scalar objects in the printview? Also, how about for vector objects? They seem to get replaced depending on how the equation they appear in are appended to the model.

The sample code below demonstrates. Bear in mind that I may not have covered all of the possible combinations. Could this be investigated?

Two final points.

1) I'd like to bring to the attention that "mod.printview" does not seem to work when using the command line.
2) What is your advice on the best practice for creating (programming) a model that contains both estimated and calibrated coefficients?

Thanks!

Graeme

Sample Code

Code: Select all

' Create workfile
  wfcreate a 2000 2010

' Define scalar, coef, and vector objects
  scalar COEF1 = 1.0

  coef(2) COEF2

  vector(2) COEF3
  COEF3.fill 0.0, 1.0

' Create some toy data
  series W = nrnd + @trend
  series Y = nrnd + @trend
  series X = nrnd + @trend
  series Z = nrnd + @trend

' Create equations using different combinations of objects
  equation EQ01.ls Y = c(1) + COEF1 * X
  equation EQ02.ls Z = COEF2(1) + COEF2(2) * X
  equation EQ03.ls W = COEF3(1) + COEF3(2) * X + c(1)
 
' Set up a model
  model mod
  mod.append :EQ01 ' COEF1 not replaced
  mod.append :EQ02 ' COEF2 is replaced
  mod.append :EQ03 ' COEF3 is replaced
  mod.append X = COEF3(1) + COEF3(2) * X(-1) ' COEF3 is not replaced

' Inspect the printview
  mod.printview(idents, signif=3) ' Does not work

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11369
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Model Printview Suggestion

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue May 17, 2016 3:33 am

The next patch will fix the command line not working.

There will also be a change that means that if you click Break Links and select a number format other than "Default", the printview will display scalar objects to that format. It doesn't yet handle matrices/vectors/coefs. Might have to wait for EV10 for that.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

xprimexinverse
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:41 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Model Printview Suggestion

Postby xprimexinverse » Tue May 17, 2016 12:22 pm

Excellent! Thanks, Gareth.


Return to “Suggestions and Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests