Importing matrices from Matlab

For requesting general information about EViews, sharing your own tips and tricks, and information on EViews training or guides.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

pbuehr

Importing matrices from Matlab

Postby pbuehr » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:21 am

Dear community,

First of all: I'm a total noob to eviews, so I excuse myself in advance for asking questions which have posted herein possibly the 1000th time already or seem to be quite daft...

I'd like to know how I can import a matrix created in matlab into eviews in order to use it for regressions. If you could subsequently explain how to define a discrete column of this matrix as a vector of independent variables for an OLS regression, that would be great...

Thanks for your help!

P.S. Any hint for an effective tutorial is highly welcome!!!

CharlieEVIEWS

Re: Importing matrices from Matlab

Postby CharlieEVIEWS » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:29 am

1.) save it as a .txt or .csv from matlab
2.) create your workfile in eviews (be sure it has the correct structure and size)
3.) file --> import --> matrix from file
4.) if your variable of interest is the fourth column of your matrix X, do something like: myvariable=columnextract(X,4), mtos(myvariable,myvariable_series), and your new series called myvariable_series will be ready to into an equation.

Any more questions, just ask.

startz
Non-normality and collinearity are NOT problems!

Postby startz » Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:20 am

Or, for the first step, use

Code: Select all

xrun
and

xget
in EViews to directly import the matrix from Matlab.

CharlieEVIEWS

Postby CharlieEVIEWS » Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:51 am

dont forget to xopen(type=m)!

startz

Postby startz » Wed Jul 22, 2015 9:54 am

CharlieEVIEWS wrote:dont forget to xopen(type=m)!

Good point.

Also, EViews doesn't care about capitalization of variables but Matlab does. So watch out for that.

pbuehr

Postby pbuehr » Thu Jul 23, 2015 1:02 am

Thanks for your help!