Page 1 of 1

series "sort" command problem in my program

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:42 pm
by Tom Simpson
Hi all,

I'm writing a program which uses a lot of sorting of series (reasonably large loops etc). Whenever I use the series "sort" command (series_name.sort) the series being sorted is opened on the screen (like using the "show") command. Is there any way I can suppress this? It seems to make the program run extremely slowly and is a bit aggravating as I end up with millions of series opened on screen (I don't want to delete these series btw so deleting them in the program is not an option).

When I use the sort command with a group (eg. "group.sort(1,2,3)" or "freeze(table_name) group.sort(1,2,3)" it doesn't open the group being sorted. This only seems to be a problem with series sorting.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, my boss wants this quick!

Re: series "sort" command problem in my program

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:00 pm
by EViews Gareth
Looks like there isn't a way to stop this currently. I'll see if we can fix that though.

Re: series "sort" command problem in my program

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:19 pm
by Tom Simpson
Hmm ok. I kludged past it using group sorting but it's definitely something I'd appreciate for future use (will probably be using this function a lot over the next year)

Thanks for your prompt reply!

Re: series "sort" command problem in my program

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:23 am
by EViews Glenn
For now, just use the close command right after the sort. It's klugy, but probably easier than doing the group kluge.

Code: Select all

a.sort
close a