Program to run with existing workfile

For questions regarding programming in the EViews programming language.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Jason, EViews Moderator, EViews Matt

AASA

Program to run with existing workfile

Postby AASA » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:02 pm

What instruction is needed for an EViews program to run with an existing workfile? For example, I have a file with UNRATE in it and have several equations trying to forecast UNRATE. One such model is a nonlinear model that first requires the user to run a least squares model several times and extract the SSR to find the minimum SSR model. I see several examples of creating files with the program and then using nrnd to generate data, but I did not see an example of how to use a program with an existing workfile. I am a beginner related to programming EViews, so I may have missed the proper instruction while looking at examples or reading the manual. Thanks

startz
Non-normality and collinearity are NOT problems!

Re: Program to run with existing workfile

Postby startz » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:10 pm

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:17 pm

To expand on Startz' answer...

If you already have the workfile open and it is the only workfile open, you don't need to use any command - the program will automatically work on the current workfile.

If you have multiple workfiles open and need to tell the program which one to use, use the wfselect command to tell EViews which one to use.

If you don't have the workfile open, use wfopen to use it.

Finally, if you're not sure if you have it open or not, use wfuse.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

AASA

Postby AASA » Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:32 pm