Error: Alpha series in specification

For questions regarding programming in the EViews programming language.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Jason, EViews Moderator, EViews Matt

moederpaard
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:36 am

Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby moederpaard » Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:44 am

Hello,

I am trying to run two data sets an equation, both containing dates in the same order and some values. Unfortunately I get the following error message:

Alpha series in specification - SERIES02

@EXPAND can convert to catagorical dummies.


What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 12576
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:03 am

You're trying to use character data in a regression. You can't do that. Your series SERIES02 contains characters, not numbers.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

moederpaard
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:36 am

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby moederpaard » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:01 am

Thanks for the reply.

However, after checking I did not find any characters except for the second row saying: "Last updated....." There are blank cells, could that be the reason?

For the full information, the cells contain the following:
left lightblue column contains dates,
the first white column contains the same dates,
the second white column contains numerical data. This second column contains differently formatted data from excel.


Last updated: 07/30/13 - 17:58
Imported from '------.xlsx'

1/02/1998      1.6417 
1/05/1998      1.6330 
1/06/1998      1.6335 
1/07/1998      1.6253 
1/08/1998      1.6114 
1/09/1998      1.6165 
1/12/1998      1.6221 
1/13/1998      1.6345 
1/14/1998      1.6301 
1/15/1998      1.6300 
1/16/1998      1.6337 

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 12576
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:10 am

Post the workfile.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

moederpaard
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:36 am

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby moederpaard » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:40 am

See attachment
Last edited by moederpaard on Thu Aug 01, 2013 3:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 12576
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:02 am

Yep, that's character data, not numerical data.

Probably the easiest thing to do is clean it up in Excel before moving it into EViews. In all likelihood, it was character data in Excel too.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

moederpaard
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:36 am

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby moederpaard » Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:02 am

Thanks for the help, the problem is solved.

rcan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 4:33 am

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby rcan » Sat May 09, 2015 4:41 am

I want to run a VAR model in Eviews 7. However, after inserting the data an error pops up "alpha series in specification".
How can I solve this error?

See attachment for workfile. There are two variables.
Attachments
VAR.WF1
(12.89 KiB) Downloaded 150 times

startz
Non-normality and collinearity are NOT problems!
Posts: 3577
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:25 pm

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby startz » Sat May 09, 2015 8:43 am

Convert sp500 to numbers. Try the @val function.

Fran17
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:34 am

Re: Error: Alpha series in specification

Postby Fran17 » Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:35 pm

Hola! A mi me sale error Alpha series in specifications-PNB
@EXPAND can convert to catagorical dummies.

Ayuda por favor, ya revise los datos del PNB y solo tengo datos numéricos


Return to “Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests