GARCH with variables

For technical questions regarding estimation of single equations, systems, VARs, Factor analysis and State Space Models in EViews. General econometric questions and advice should go in the Econometric Discussions forum.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

nerijus

GARCH with variables

Postby nerijus » Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:23 am

Hi guys, sorry for my english.

I'm complete beginner in time series. I'm trying to measure the impact of macro announcements on volatility. I have ~72000 observations (EUR/USD returns, 5 minute intervals) and ~1000 news, which are in 12 categories. I need to analyze the impact of these categories on return volatility. As far as I understand these categories can be represented as dummy variables. Where should I include dummy variables, in conditional mean or in variance? I've read a lot of studies (including Engle's and Bollerslev), but more i read, more i'm confused. I don't need any complex system, the simpliest would be the best, but the GARCH model is necessary.The biggest problem is that I have no time to learn software languages like eviews, R, MATLAB etc, and i need to test the impact of news as soon as possible. Maybe somebody has written such or similar program or can suggest the easy way to do that? Or maybe where is someone who can help me to do the calculations? I wouldn't remain in debt...

trubador
Did you use forum search?

Re: GARCH with variables

Postby trubador » Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:08 am