Saving to fame database

For questions regarding the import, export and manipulation of data in EViews, including graphing and basic statistics.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Steve, EViews Jason, EViews Moderator, EViews Pamela

tvonbrasch
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Saving to fame database

Postby tvonbrasch » Sat May 19, 2018 2:34 am

Hi

I tried to save my data into a fame database, but when using the dbcreate command, I got the following error message:

fametest.PNG
fametest.PNG (34.75 KiB) Viewed 175 times


How can I save my data in a fame database?

Thomas

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11735
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Saving to fame database

Postby EViews Gareth » Sat May 19, 2018 8:05 am

DBCREATE creates a new database. If you want to store data into an existing database, use STORE.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

tvonbrasch
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Saving to fame database

Postby tvonbrasch » Sat May 19, 2018 11:00 pm

Hi

I tried using the STORE command, but then I got the error message

store.PNG
store.PNG (63.36 KiB) Viewed 156 times


and I have read and write access to this path on linux. I do not understand what is causing this... do you have an idea?

Thomas

EViews Jason
EViews Developer
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:50 pm

Re: Saving to fame database

Postby EViews Jason » Mon May 21, 2018 9:18 am

I am looking into it right now but I dont believe EViews can create FAME server databases. I think EViews can create FAME local databases but that is a completely different category. I would try creating the database via the FAME application and then use dbopen and dbstore to open and save to the database.

EViews Jason
EViews Developer
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:50 pm

Re: Saving to fame database

Postby EViews Jason » Mon May 21, 2018 9:37 am

If the database does exist and you get the same error using dbopen, I would also verify your FAME license files are up to date. Can you run the FAME application and open the database?

Assuming the FAME application works, does fetching a series from the same database work?

tvonbrasch
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Saving to fame database

Postby tvonbrasch » Mon May 21, 2018 11:15 pm

Hi Jason

Yes, there was a problem with how to write stuff to LINUX.
Thanks
Thomas


Return to “Data Manipulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests