Data import via Macrobond database

For questions regarding the import, export and manipulation of data in EViews, including graphing and basic statistics.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Jason, EViews Steve, EViews Moderator

selvi

Data import via Macrobond database

Postby selvi » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:56 pm

Hi,
I am relatively new to eviews. I have eviews 9.5 and am importing data from Macrobond into a database. However, after importing macrobond time-series into the database with the browse-append button, and saving the database with a name, I notice that when I re-open the database, the time-series are lost. Ideally, I would like the macrobond time-series to be updated every time I open the macrobond database with a bespoke name. How can I do that? Thank you

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon

Re: Data import via Macrobond database

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:57 pm

Put the series into a workfile (as links if you like, so they'll update), not a database.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

selvi

Postby selvi » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:02 pm

Thanks Gareth from the quick reply. I do export the time-series to a workfile, but then the workfile needs to refresh from the database, isn't it?

EViews Gareth

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:04 pm

Yes, that's the idea.

selvi

Postby selvi » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:23 pm

I am sorry, perhaps I don't get it. If the workfile has time-series with links to the database, and the database (with an edb extension) gets emptied every time I close it, then how can I automatically update the time-series which I have saved in the workfile, which are linked to the database?

EViews Gareth

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:32 pm

Link from the macrobond database, not an edb.

selvi

Postby selvi » Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:55 pm