how to change axis scale?

For questions regarding the import, export and manipulation of data in EViews, including graphing and basic statistics.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Jason, EViews Steve, EViews Moderator

tanghanpost
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:39 am

how to change axis scale?

Postby tanghanpost » Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:41 am

hi,
i plot a data with eviews, just say 10 cells, then the axis scale are 5 ticks, just 0,2,4,6,8,10. but i want to show 8 ticks, like 0,1.5,3,……,then how to change the scale?
i find that eviews has the menu of "atuo", "min&max","user specified", but no choice for the number of the axis ticks.
can anyone tell me?


thanks!

EViews Pamela
EViews Developer
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:52 pm

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby EViews Pamela » Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:52 am

If you are referring to the data scale, EViews allows you to set the endpoints using the options you listed (Auto, Min/Max, User), but not to specify the interval.

Pamela

Katjes
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:46 am

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby Katjes » Tue Aug 18, 2009 5:52 am

Is there no possibility to change the scale?? I only want 1 decimal place, hence all values, as 0.55, 0.45 are not necessary. My scale looks no as follows, which is really stupid!
.5
.5
.4
.4
.3
.3
Looking forward to receive any suggestions,
Thanks Katjes

EViews Pamela
EViews Developer
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:52 pm

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby EViews Pamela » Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:34 am

While EViews provides extensive control over the time scale, it does not currently allow for much customization of the data scale. My best suggestion would be to play with the endpoint options mentioned above (Auto, Min/Max, User specified) to see if you can achieve what you're after.

loulouviews
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:19 am

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby loulouviews » Mon Apr 25, 2016 5:36 am

Hi,
I'm reopening this thread to find out if this is now possible.
I'm using EViews 9.5
Thanks a lot

Louis

EViews Jason
EViews Developer
Posts: 717
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:50 pm

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby EViews Jason » Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:26 am

Unfortuntately not, but we will note the additional request.

COM446
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: how to change axis value?

Postby COM446 » Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:28 am

Hi, I want to do a plot with 24 observations. A default plot labels the horizontal axis as 2,4,6,...24 (obs.1-24). I want to change the horizontal axis to 1,3,5,...23 with the same 24 observations. How do I specify the command in my program? Thanks, Howard

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11898
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:34 am

Code: Select all

graph.datelabel interval(obs, 2, 1)
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

COM446
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby COM446 » Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:10 pm

Hi, Gareth, thank you so much. My question wasn't written clearly. I have 24 observations. A default plot will label the horizontal axis as 1,2,3,...24. I want to change the label to 0,1,2,...23. How to specify the command? thanks, Howard

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11898
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:29 pm

That's a completely different question...

http://www.eviews.com/help/helpintro.ht ... 23ww196252
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

UnnL
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:09 am

Re: how to change axis scale?

Postby UnnL » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:25 pm

Hi,
I wonder if it now is possible to customization the data scale and choose number of ticks? I'm using EViews 10.

Unn


Return to “Data Manipulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests