GetQuandl

For questions about EViews Add-ins available from the EViews Add-ins webpage. Note each add-in available on our webpage will have its own individual thread.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator, EViews Esther

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:26 am

This thread is about the GetQuandl Add-in that provides an easy way to download Quandl data into EViews.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

sweivE
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:21 am

Re: GetQuandl

Postby sweivE » Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:01 am

I believe there is a mistake in your code

instead of

Code: Select all

'check that the user entered at least one stock symbol.
if @length(%vars)=0 then
   @uiprompt("You must enter at least one Quandl code")
   stop
endif

if @length(%vars)>1 then
   @uiprompt("Due to Quandl API restrictions, only one code may be entered at a time")
   stop
endif


it should be (changes are in bold)

'check that the user entered at least one stock symbol.
if @wcount(%vars)=0 then
@uiprompt("You must enter at least one Quandl code")
stop
endif

if @wcount(%vars)>1 then
@uiprompt("Due to Quandl API restrictions, only one code may be entered at a time")
stop
endif


fixing that worked for me

thnx for the add in
quandl is amazing!

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:00 am

Good call.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

d952
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:30 am

Re: GetQuandl

Postby d952 » Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:58 am

Hi Gareth, I already added GetQuandl to my Eviews8 add-in, I tried to run this codes on Eviews programming windows but it doesnt work, for instance if my quandl code is FOO_3, then I have to write this command:

if @wcount(%vars)=0 then
@uiprompt("FOO_3")
stop
endif

if @wcount(%vars)>1 then
@uiprompt("FOO_3")
stop
endif

I appreciate if you help me.
thanks

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Mon Dec 09, 2013 10:10 am

I don't understand what you're asking.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

d952
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:30 am

Re: GetQuandl

Postby d952 » Mon Dec 09, 2013 10:27 am

Sorry it is solved, thanks.

d952
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:30 am

Re: GetQuandl

Postby d952 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:42 am

Dear Gareth, is there a way to update data that we already download from Quandl? Thanks

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:09 am

Only by redownloading it.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

d952
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:30 am

Re: GetQuandl

Postby d952 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:14 am

Thanks for your reply, I got another problem.
I downloaded plenty of data by getQuandl, then my daily restriction that is 500 API calls for registered API is finished, then I contacted Quandl and asked for more allowance and they gave me 10,000 API calls but still Eviews doesnt allow me to download data, and keep giving this messege:

Web server error: Forbidden in "WFOPEN(WF=QUANDL, PAGE="QUANDL", TYPE=TXT) HTTP://WWW.QUANDL.COM/API/V1/DATASETS/OFDP/FUTURE_HO ...

Do you have any idea that what can be the problem? I contacted again with Quandl and they told me that they are suspecting Eviews can not recognize my extended allowance API, do you have any suggestion?
Thanks

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:34 am

They're probably right. If you're downloading that many, you're probably better off writing your own program to do it via the Quandl API rather than using the add-in.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

d952
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:30 am

Re: GetQuandl

Postby d952 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:26 am

Dear Eviews Gareth, If I want to take the historical futures data from Quandl, it would be too many series, something like 400 series and getting them one bye one with Eviews Ttakes so much time (as I need them for different commodities it woulbe be more than 2000 downloads) I could manage to get them all together (historical futures for one commodity) in one code with Stata as below:

local fut "CL1 CLM1983 CLN1983 CLQ1983 CLU1983 CLV1983 CLX1983 CLZ1983 CLF1984 CLG1984 CLH1984 CLJ1984 CLK1984 CLM1984 CLN1984 CLQ1984 CLU1984 CLV1984 CLX1984 CLZ1984...."
local j 0
foreach x of local fut {
local nome = "OFDP/FUTURE_"+"`x'"
quandl, quandlcode(`nome') authtoken(C5iRsDGdor1T5hAGvnMV)
drop open high low volume openinterest
rename settle pc_`x'
* Uncomment to create continous vol, oi, etc.
*rename volume vol_`x'
*rename openinterest oi_`x'
*rename open po_`x'
*rename high ph_`x'
*reaname low pl_`x'
sort date
save dati_`j'.dta, replace
local ++j
clear
}

local j 0
foreach x of local fut {
if `j'==0 {
use "dati_`j'.dta", clear

}
else {
merge date using "dati_`j'.dta"
sort date
drop _merge
}
local ++j
}
/*
save prove.dta, replace

use prove.dta, clear
*/

but as my work is with Eviews I would like to know that is it possible to modify the codes for Eviews?
My API Quandl key can get 10000 download per day.

Thank you

EViews Gareth wrote:They're probably right. If you're downloading that many, you're probably better off writing your own program to do it via the Quandl API rather than using the add-in.

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:40 pm

The add-in is open source - you can look at the code and change it any way you want.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

maxchen
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby maxchen » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:57 am

http://www.eviews.com/Addins/addins.shtml the addin of GetStocks's forum link to here, should go to viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2128

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11260
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby EViews Gareth » Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:19 am

Thanks, fixed.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

jfgeli
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:29 pm

Re: GetQuandl

Postby jfgeli » Wed Feb 10, 2016 4:58 am

Hi there,
I have failed to download at once 2 series from Quandl...Evidently I am doing I should be doing something wrong so I would appreciate a bit of guidance here :)

%list2= "CME/CLF2016 CME/CLG2016"
for %a {%list2}
statusline {%a} downloading
getquandl {%a}
rename settle %a
statusline {%a} done
next

In addition, I would like to download all the series to the same workfile without creating a new file all the time. In the documentation I only found that it is possible to set the start and end date.

Cheers,

Fede


Return to “Add-in Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests