Method for non-stationay time series data

For econometric discussions not necessarily related to EViews.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

cuongnh

Method for non-stationay time series data

Postby cuongnh » Mon May 18, 2009 8:33 pm

Dear,
I am trying to estimate using non-stationary time series data, which by using OLS gave a bad stats of presence of positive serial correlation. I studied the method of Cochrane-Orcutt (CO), but someone said that CO is not applicable with non-stationary time series data. Could anyone advise me which method is appropriate to estimate these data? Many thanks!

trubador
Did you use forum search?

Re: Method for non-stationay time series data

Postby trubador » Tue May 19, 2009 12:47 am

It depends on the nature of the nonstationarity and where you observe it (i.e. in mean and/or variance). If your time series is not stationary in the mean, then you can make it stationary via differencing or detrending. Time series decomposition models can also be helpful in this respect. Another option may be to find cointegrating relationships among your varibles and build a Vector Error Correction (VEC) model. If you observe the nonstationarity in variances, then you can set up GARCH-type models. As you see, there is more than one way to handle this issue and I strongly advise you to refer to a time series econometrics textbook.

cuongnh

Postby cuongnh » Tue May 19, 2009 12:55 am

Thanks, Trubador. I have been studying about the cointegration and VEC. As I tried the cointegration test, it indicated no cointegrating relation. How can I conclude this? And could you please explain me in a bit detail what the VEC is for? It is hard to understand in some text books.

trubador
Did you use forum search?

Postby trubador » Tue May 19, 2009 2:32 am

tcfoon

Postby tcfoon » Tue May 19, 2009 6:00 am

Dear Coungnh,