Beginner - Different multiple regression problems

For econometric discussions not necessarily related to EViews.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

90frmat

Beginner - Different multiple regression problems

Postby 90frmat » Tue May 14, 2013 8:46 am

Hello, i'm new at eviews and i've encountered a few problems.

I'm doing a multiple regression and the first question i have is regarding when to log your variables. My Y is the gold price and the variables are gdp, cpi and the interest rate.

Another problem is that the Durbin-Watson test is really low, like 0,02 or something. That suggests i have autocorrelation and i wonder what i can do about it?

I'm also doing a unit root test, the dickey-fuller test. I'm wondering if i should test it in "level" or "1st difference". If i choose level all of em are non-stationary and with the 1st difference they are fine. If the are non-stationary, how do i make it stationary?

Hope you can answer these questions, and as i mentioned i'm new with eviews so if you could explain it as simple as possible that would be very much appreciated. tell me if i should copy in some numbers or anything to make it easier for you to answer my questions.

thanks in advance

NicV

Re: Beginner - Different multiple regression problems

Postby NicV » Thu May 16, 2013 4:30 am

Regarding logs: in its basic form it depends on what kind of (interpretation of) output you want.
Using logs both sides will give you elasticities, which may be more realistic than levels both sides as log-log would e.g. say that if GDP grows with 1%, the gold price increases with 0.5% per ounce as opposed to level-level which would say e.g. every €1 billion in GDP increases the gold price with €5 per ounce, be it from a GDP of 1 billion to 2 billion or from a GDP of 500 to 501 billion.