rolling regression program

For posting your own programs to share with others

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

justynaka2187

rolling regression program

Postby justynaka2187 » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:42 am

Hello,
I was hoping if any of you could help me with my problem. I am quite new to eviews programing but i managed to program rolling regression for my forecast, but when i run it i the results I am getting are pretty strange, firstly the equation I am getting has very large (in absolute terms) t statistics and my R^2 ( also adjusted ) is equall to 1 , then when i do the forecast from this equation I m just getting back 3 dots in the graph coresponding to one date, also I dont get statistics like MAE etc back. Here is the program I am using:
smpl @all
scalar n =@obs(hml)
scalar window = 60
series hml
equation e
for !i=0 to n-window-1
smpl @first+!i @first+!i+window-1
e.ls hml c erp tb3m yieldspr(-1) defspr credspr(-2)
smpl @first+!i+window @first+!i+window
hml =@coefs(1) +@coefs(2)*erp + @coefs(3)*tb3m +@coefs(4)*yieldspr(-1) + @coefs(5)*defspr +@coefs(6)*credspr(-2)
next
delete window n

I would highly appreciate if any of you could help me!
Thanks!

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon

Re: rolling regression program

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:49 am

There's a few things in there that don't make sense to me.

1) The line that says:

Code: Select all

series hml

This line would usually be used to declare a new (empty) series. However in your case, I suspect that there is already a series called HML (since you've used it in the @obs function above). Thus this line does nothing, I suspect.

2) The line where you're doing your forecast. You appear to be assigning the forecast value on top of the actual data value. This is almost certainly not what you wanted to do.

Perhaps you meant to assign the forecasts to a new series, called something else. So perhaps your program should be:

Code: Select all

smpl @all