can't open workfile

For posts that don't quite fit into any of the other forums, including posts about these forums themselves.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

hhel1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:42 am

can't open workfile

Postby hhel1 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:06 am

I use Eviews 7 and sometimes (not very often) I have problem to open workfiles. When I try to open the workfile I get the error message "File does not meet .WF1 workfile specification.". Before this happens I have opened the file successfully a lot of times. Why? Is it possible to rescue the file?
Thanks for a n useful forum.
Håkan Hellstrand

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11369
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: can't open workfile

Postby EViews Gareth » Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:30 am

This message indicates that the file has become corrupt somehow. This can often happen when saving large files across a network connection. In such cases it is often better to save it to your local drive first, and then copy it over to the network location.

When corruption does occur, you can always switch back to your backup copy of the file (the file with the same name and a ~f1 extension).
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

hhel1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:42 am

Re: can't open workfile

Postby hhel1 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:20 pm

I tried to open the ~f1-file, but don't know what "Format string" to use in Binary read step 1 of 3.

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 11369
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: can't open workfile

Postby EViews Gareth » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:20 pm

Rename it to a .wf1 file first.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

hhel1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:42 am

Re: can't open workfile

Postby hhel1 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:39 am

I made it! Thanks, it saved me a lot of work!


Return to “Any Other Business”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests