Model Solve - smooth transition from historical to forecast?

For technical support, tips and tricks, suggestions, or any other information regarding the EViews model object.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

gg_pse

Model Solve - smooth transition from historical to forecast?

Postby gg_pse » Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:32 pm

I am fairly new to eviews and would appreciate any help on this topic. I have a system of equations in the MODEL object that I am trying to solve simultaneously and create forecasts of. The problem is that for the starting value of the forecast of a given endogenous variable there is an anomalous dip which throws off the entire series and subsequently all the other variables that are dependent on it. For example a variable showing population growth which has historical data till 2011, suddenly turns negative in 2012. I am trying to figure out how this first forecasted value for an endogenous variable is created, and how I can modify it? Is there a way to use add factors to get a smooth transition from historical data to forecast?

The simulation type I am using is deterministic (dynamic solution) and the solver is set to Preferred solution starting values - "Actuals" and Forward Solution "User supplied in Actuals".

I would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks.

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon

Re: Model Solve - smooth transition from historical to forec

Postby EViews Gareth » Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:45 pm

Hard to say without knowing more about the specification of the model/equations
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

gg_pse

Postby gg_pse » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:53 am

I am attaching 2 txt files here. The first has all the text view of the entire model. The second has the equations defined which do not display in the text view in the first file.
Thanks
Attachments
Equations.txt
(6.16 KiB) Downloaded 553 times
Model.txt
(1.85 KiB) Downloaded 537 times

EViews Gareth

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:56 am