Baseline and scenario the same

For technical support, tips and tricks, suggestions, or any other information regarding the EViews model object.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

sianfenner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:33 pm

Baseline and scenario the same

Postby sianfenner » Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:31 pm

Please help I am trying to run a scenario where I make an endogenous variable exgogenous and then shock it. However, when I do this the baseline and the scenario are the same. I assume I am not using the exclude/overide commands correctly. Below is what I am doing where e_ is the equation:

smpl 2007 2015

coal_prices.addassign @all
coal_prices.addinit(v=n) @all

smpl 2010 2015
series pr_therm=pr_therm(-1)

coal_prices.exclude e_pr_therm

series pr_hard=pr_hard(-1)
coal_prices.exclude e_pr_hard

'coal_prices.exclude(actexist=t,m)

smpl 2007 2015


coal_prices.scenario(n,a=_f) "sim"
coal_prices.solveopt(e=t)


'Coal price simulations

'smpl 1980 2015
series pr_therm_base=pr_therm
series pr_hard_base=pr_hard


smpl 2010 2015
series pr_therm=1.1*pr_therm
series pr_hard=1.1*pr_hard


smpl 2007 2015
coal_prices.solve


I am using eviews 7 and any help would be great thanks

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 12266
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Baseline and scenario the same

Postby EViews Gareth » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:16 pm

When you set an override for a scenario, you're telling EViews to use the scenario series rather than the real series. Thus I think you want to set the values of series pr_therm_f, not pr_therm.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews


Return to “Models”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest