Page 1 of 1

Exclude vs Drop?

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 9:58 am
by tvonbrasch
Hi

what is the difference between exclude and drop?

I tried the drop and override command, and compared it with the exclude and override command, and the simulation yielded different results. I thought it would be the same... should it be the same or have I done something wrong? I thought that the exclude command exogenised a variable, or is it something else this command does?

What is it that I do not understand?
Thomas

Re: Exclude vs Drop?

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:28 am
by EViews Gareth
Exclude is only for the current scenario and changes a single variable. Drop is for all scenarios and drops the entire estimation object/spec.

If you are only working with a single scenario, and the estimation spec for the variable is univariate (i.e. not a VAR, system, model etc...), they're probably the same:

Code: Select all

create u 100
series y=nrnd
series x=nrnd
model m
m.append y=0.5*y(-1)+0.3*x(-1)
m.append x = 0.4*x(-1)+0.7*y(-1)

m.exclude y
m.solve
series test1 = y_0
d m
model m
m.append y=0.5*y(-1)+0.3*x(-1)
m.append x = 0.4*x(-1)+0.7*y(-1)
m.drop y
m.solve
series test2 = y_0
show test1 test2

Re: Exclude vs Drop?

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:55 am
by tvonbrasch
Excellent! thanks for the swift reply. that means that I am doing something wrong. I will see if I can figure it out....
Thomas