Add factors

For technical support, tips and tricks, suggestions, or any other information regarding the EViews model object.

Moderators: EViews Gareth, EViews Moderator

Dag Kolsrud
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:49 am

Add factors

Postby Dag Kolsrud » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:35 am

I got the message: Overflow in "A31 equation" in "__KVARTSMODELLEN.ADDINIT(S=B, V=N) @ALL". What does it mean?

The A31 equation is "0*A31+... = ...+0.94748*A31+..." where the 0*A31 has been inserted on the left hand side of the equation (which was transported from a program system where the endogenous variable can be anywhere in the equation) in order to satisfy EViews requirement. That works fine for solving the model without add factors. Moving +0.94748*A31 from the right hand side to replace 0*A31 first on the left hand side removes the error message. Why?

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 13294
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Add factors

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:42 am

Overflow is caused by the model generating a number that is too large for the computer to handle. Usually due to logs (or rather inverting the log to exponentials).
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

Dag Kolsrud
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:49 am

Re: Add factors

Postby Dag Kolsrud » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:45 am

Why did the error message disappear when I rearranged the Equation as described in my first email?

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 13294
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Add factors

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:00 am

Hard to say.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

tvonbrasch
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Add factors

Postby tvonbrasch » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:29 am

Hi Gareth

When moving our macro model from TROLL to EViews we have to make EViews understand which variable that is to be treated as endogenous in each equation. For example, if we have the equation
y = 4*x + .2*y

and x is to be treated as the endogenous variable, EViews Chris reccommended that we just rewrite the equation as
0*x + y = 4*x + .2*y

see the post http://forums.eviews.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=9601&p=33688&hilit=troll#p33688.

Now it seems that this advice creates some problems with respect to initializations of add factors. To see this, run the commands

Code: Select all

wfcreate u 100
   genr x=50+0.03*@trend+2*nrnd
   genr log(y)=3*log(x)+nrnd

model _m
   _m.append 0*x+log(y)=3*log(x)
   '_m.replace  3*log(x)=log(y)
   _m.addassign(v) @all
   _m.addinit(v=n) @all


Which generates the error message:
Overflow in "X equation" in "_M.ADDINIT(V=N) @ALL".

If you however uncomment the line '_m.replace 3*log(x)=log(y), the addinit command works fine. This is what Dag illustrated in the example above. Is this something you can fix? If so, it would be highly appreciated.
Thomas

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 13294
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Add factors

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:16 am

I just ran that program 1,000 times and it didn't generate an error once...
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

tvonbrasch
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Add factors

Postby tvonbrasch » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:43 am

What kind of superpowers do you have?

The first picture is the error I get when running the program. I get the second error when I have the model

Code: Select all

_m.append x+log(y)=3*log(x)+x

i.e., I change y=f(x) to x+y=f(x)+x, instead of 0*x+y=f(x).

I have EViews 10, Apr 3. 2018.

It is very strange that you cannot reproduce this... I have also attached a workfile. Try to run the command

Code: Select all

_m.addinit(v=n) @all
and you should get the error message in the second picture.
Thomas

Error1.PNG
Error1.PNG (24.38 KiB) Viewed 16825 times

Error2.PNG
Error2.PNG (17.75 KiB) Viewed 16825 times
Attachments
_m.WF1
(16.61 KiB) Downloaded 436 times

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 13294
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Add factors

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:40 pm

Yes, I get the error message on the posted workfile, but if I changed the models specification to:

Code: Select all

0*x + log(y) = 3*log(x)

the error goes away.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

tvonbrasch
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Add factors

Postby tvonbrasch » Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:53 pm

that is strange,

do you get an error if you run the command

Code: Select all

   _m.addinit(v=n) @all

on the attached workfile? In this case the model is: 0 * x + log(y) = 3 * log(x).

When I run it, I get:
1.PNG
1.PNG (41.49 KiB) Viewed 16820 times


Thomas
Attachments
_m_overflow.WF1
(16.62 KiB) Downloaded 410 times

EViews Gareth
Fe ddaethom, fe welon, fe amcangyfrifon
Posts: 13294
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Add factors

Postby EViews Gareth » Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:08 pm

No error.

Try deleting (or moving so you can move it back) your EViews ini file.
Follow us on Twitter @IHSEViews

tvonbrasch
Posts: 540
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:35 am

Re: Add factors

Postby tvonbrasch » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:44 pm

I moved the ini file and reopened EViews (EViews then created another ini file), but EViews still reports an error when running the program......

any other ideas about what is causing this error?
T

error_after_ini.PNG
error_after_ini.PNG (45.23 KiB) Viewed 16805 times


Return to “Models”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests